Our Leadership

Everyone plays a crucial part

Our management team strives to empower all staff members by reinforcing our Mission, which results in providing the absolute best quality of life possible, for our residents. The management team displays transparency in order to earn trust, thus creating loyalty.

Department Heads

Gloria “Jeannie” J. Shiley

Jeannie is the President and Chief Executive Officer at SVWC, has more than 20 years of experience working in long-term care. Mrs. Shiley joined Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury as director of accounting in July 1999 and was promoted to Administrator in September 2003. In December 2007, she was promoted to President and CEO of SVWC. She is a graduate of Shepherd College with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and is a certified aging services professional, receiving the certification from the University of North Texas in 2004.

duane wernecke headshot
Duane Wernecke, CPA

Duane is Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury’s Chief Financial Officer. He joined SVWC in July 2012. Duane has worked in healthcare since 1997, first as a consultant, then as an office administrator/business manager for a physician group and then as the chief operating officer of a medical practice management firm based in northwestern Virginia. He received his CPA license in September 2000, a BS in accounting from George Mason University, and a BS in airway science from Ohio University.

michael williams headshot
Michael Williams

Michael joined the SVWC staff in August 2014 as the Administrator. He has worked in the senior living field since 1995 and served audiences around Virginia, leading nursing homes, assisted living communities, and continuing care communities. He found his passion while completing an Administrator-in-Training program with Medical Facilities of America. Michael graduated from Warren County High School and then James Madison University with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Management. He is licensed as a nursing home preceptor.

Department Directory

John Ferrulli

/ Information Technology & Security Director – jferrulli@svwc.org

Danny Festa

/ Director of Dining Services – dfesta@svwc.org

Cindy Hunter

/ Human Resources Director – chunter@svwc.org

Chanda Palmer

/ Director of Marketing and Communications – cpalmer@svwc.org

Donielle Palmer

/ Director of Resident Services – dpalmer@svwc.org

Jeannie Shiley

/ President, Chief Executive Officer – jshiley@svwc.org

Michelle Thomas

/ Health Services Director – mthomas@svwc.org

Duane Wernecke

/ Chief Financial Officer – dwernecke@svwc.org

Jim White

/ Environmental Services Director – jwhite@svwc.org

Michael Williams

/ Administrator – mwilliams@svwc.org

Niki Wilson

/ Foundation Director – nwilson@svwc.org

Board of Trustees

The management of the Corporation is placed in the Board of Trustees, which consists of nineteen members. The Trustees are divided into two groups of nine elected Trustees; referred to as Class I and Class II. Nine Trustees (Class I) are elected by the Board of Trustees of the Virginia Diocesan Homes, Incorporated. Nine Trustees (Class II) are elected by the Board of Trustees of Westminster Presbyterian Homes, Incorporated. The Trustees’ terms of office are for three years, with a maximum of three consecutive terms. The President of the Residents’ Association shall serve as an ex officio voting Trustee. The Board of Trustees elects a Chair and a Vice-Chair at its Annual Meeting.

Board of Trustees Directory

William Pifer

/ Chair

Scott Harvard

/ Vice Chair

Scott Arthur

/ Treasurer/Secretary

Bridget Aikens
John Dorsey
Kathryn Ganske, Ph.D.
Susan Kagey, CFP
Joseph Kalbach
Pat Kofalt
Rev. Dan McCoig
Stephen Pettit, CPA
Cari Sherwood

/ Resident Member

Sara Stern
Cindia Stewart, Ph.D.
Martin Tabaka
Courtney Warner
Jeffrey Webber
David Wingenbach