Our Leadership

Everyone plays a crucial part

Our management team strives to empower all staff members by reinforcing our Mission, which results in providing the absolute best quality of life possible, for our residents. The management team displays transparency in order to earn trust, thus creating loyalty.


Gloria “Jeannie” J. Shiley - President/Chief Executive Officer

Jeannie is the President and Chief Executive Officer at SVWC, has more than 20 years of experience working in long-term care. Mrs. Shiley joined Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury as director of accounting in July 1999 and was promoted to Administrator in September 2003. In December 2007, she was promoted to President and CEO of SVWC. She is a graduate of Shepherd College with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and is a certified aging services professional, receiving the certification from the University of North Texas in 2004.

Chanda palmer - Chief Operating Officer

Chanda joined the SVWC staff in 2009 and served as the Director of Marketing from 2010 - 2021. Her excellent performance in that position made her the ideal candidate for SVWC's Chief Operating Officer role. Chanda received her bachelor's degree from James Madison University, her master's degree from Old Dominion University, and her Administrator's license in 2016.

Andrew Heishman - Administrator

Andrew joined SVWC in 2024. He received his BS in health and exercise science from Bridgewater College. He became a licensed Administrator in 2013 and has over 10 years of Healthcare Administration experience, operating Skilled Nursing and Assisted Living Facilities and Specialized Memory Care units.

Duane Wernecke, CPA - Chief Financial Officer

Duane is Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury’s Chief Financial Officer. He joined SVWC in July 2012. Duane has worked in healthcare since 1997, first as a consultant, then as an office administrator/business manager for a physician group and then as the chief operating officer of a medical practice management firm based in northwestern Virginia. He received his CPA license in September 2000, a BS in accounting from George Mason University, and a BS in airway science from Ohio University.

Leadership Team

John Ferrulli

/ Information Technology & Security Director – jferrulli@svwc.org

Al Foster

/ Facilities Director – afoster@svwc.org

Andrew Heishman

/ Administrator – aheishman@svwc.org

Sherry Cather Hudson

/ Foundation and Marketing Director – shudson@svwc.org

Cindy Hunter

/ Human Resources Director – chunter@svwc.org


/ Chief Operating Officer – cpalmer@svwc.org


/ Director of Resident Services – dpalmer@svwc.org

jeannie shiley

/ President, Chief Executive Officer & Interim Administrator – jshiley@svwc.org


/ Health Services Director – mthomas@svwc.org

Duane Wernecke

/ Chief Financial Officer – dwernecke@svwc.org

Board of Trustees

The management of the Corporation is placed in the Board of Trustees, which consists of nineteen members. The Trustees are divided into two groups of nine elected Trustees; referred to as Class I and Class II. Nine Trustees (Class I) are elected by the Board of Trustees of the Virginia Diocesan Homes, Incorporated. Nine Trustees (Class II) are elected by the Board of Trustees of Westminster Presbyterian Homes, Incorporated. The Trustees’ terms of office are for three years, with a maximum of three consecutive terms. The President of the Residents’ Association shall serve as an ex officio voting Trustee. The Board of Trustees elects a Chair and a Vice-Chair at its Annual Meeting.

Corporate Board of Trustees Directory

Rev. Dan McCoig

/ Chair

Cindia Stewart

/ Vice Chair

Rob Boyd

/ Treasurer/Secretary

Bridget Aikens
John Armstrong, MD
patricia barnes
Clare Monahan Dame
John Dorsey
Donald Ganske
Linda Gibson
Susan Kagey
Pat Kofalt
Mark Loring
Libba Pendleton
Marty Tabaka
Courtney Warner
Jeff Webber
Sylvia Wilson
David Wingenbach